One Year of Podcasting

24 03 2014

A little over a week ago, I completed a milestone in podcasting. You can read about my podcasting adventure here. My brothers and I have produced and released one podcast each week for an entire year. It wasn’t always easy, especially with vacations and family things coming up. We almost missed a week in December due to my brothers being out of town (I recorded a short one with my daughter). It was an interesting experience. Here are some things I learned.

1) Podcasts can be fleeting things. I know that’s weird to mention right after glorying in the regularity of the show we’ve put on. Here’s the point, though. I have listened to many podcasts that experience what is termed pod fading. Unless you are doing the podcast as part of your job, it is really difficult to put a lot of time into it. I only spend about an hour and twenty minutes on the podcast each week and an hour of that is actually recording the show. My brother that produces the show spends many hours more than that. That works out because he enjoys the work and has the time. Problem is he may not always have the time.

2) I love doing a podcast. It doesn’t matter how down or depressed I am, signing into skype and connecting with my brothers to do the show always lifts my spirits. Sure I see these guys quite often and we have fun together, but somehow the podcast is different and different in a fun way.

3) Podcasting is hard. Very little editing is done as far as the content of the show goes. That makes it feel very much like a live show. I am not nearly as coherant speaking as I am writing and that comes through on the show. I am always forgetting names and often find myself trying to think of the perfect word to get across my ideas. It’s also difficult to come up with something fresh and new each episode. I worry that I am repeating stories and ideas. There is only so much one can say about Star Trek and Star Wars. It was difficult getting the show onto itunes. That took a very, very long time to figure out.

4) Host chemistry is important. One of the things that makes a good television show or movie is the chemistry between the actors. The same is true of podcasts. The topic of conversation is not as important to me as the chemistry between the hosts. I have listened to podcasts with fascinating topics, but then never listened again because the host interaction was boring. There are a lot of issues with our show that I believe are covered up because of our chemistry together.

5) Organization is also important. You can’t rely on pure chemistry alone. If that were the case we’d all be piles of gilatenous ooze on the floor. You need a structure to keep everything in place and hold it up. Switching to a format was the best thing that happened to our show. We are able to divide and conquer. We are able to keep the show around an hour in length. The show flows and it is better for it.

6) The show is good. I know it’s awkward to say that about my own show, but when I listen to it (especially when it is one of the few episodes I was absent from) I really like it. The banter is amusing, we’ve each fallen into specific roles in the show that complement and hold up each other. The bumper music is great (my brother has found some great podfriendly music). The show always puts a smile on my face and sometimes I have to stifle my laughter in my cubicle so as not to disturb my coworkers.

If you want to listen to my podcast go to enginerdyshow.blogspot.com.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

